Homemade Watermelon Slurpee

It’s an excruciatingly hot weekend…well, for me anyway. I’m hot when its 80 degrees out, so 100 isn’t exactly ideal. I do have air conditioner but we are trying not to use it to keep electricity costs down, which leaves my roommate and I searching for ways to beat the heat. Slurpees and ice cream come to mind automatically, but we were looking for something a little healthier.

Then I stumbled across this blog with exactly what we were looking for. I have had half a watermelon in the fridge all week, just waiting to be cut, and limes are a staple here. And those are really the only two ingredients! Plus, watermelon is packed with health benefits.

The original recipe can beImage found here, we worked off of that but made a few adjustments.

Watermelon “Slurpee”:

-About 3 cups watermelon, cut into wedges/chunks

-1/4 cup ice

-1 tablespoon of lime juice

½ tablespoon of honey

-5 tablespoons water

We put all of the above ingredients into a blender and blended on high until it all mixed together and the ice chunks broke up. Then we zested a bit of lime onto the top of each of the drinks (this recipe made two). It was amazing! Basically the consistency of a slurpee, but with only natural sugars (dare I say paleo?), and a super sweet taste. If you want it thicker, just eliminate a tablespoon or so of water, or maybe add more ice? The only thing I would do differently next time is add a little more lime. I bet adding a few strawberries would be delicious too. The flavors were mellow, sweet, and refreshing as we made it though.

Image

I would definitely make these again!

Try it – leave your thoughts in the comments below! Or if you are looking for a different smoothie recipe, check out my old blog here.

One thought on “Homemade Watermelon Slurpee

  1. Pingback: July 11 – Free Slurpee Day | Cheer Du Jour

Leave a Reply

