Turkey Burgers – Healthy and Delicious

I love meat. I could not imagine a diet without it, but beef can be high in fat and calories, and chicken isn’t my favorite. I try to do a few days a week meatless just for health’s sake, but I have a hard time feeling full or satisfied without some sort of meat. Looking for alternatives, I have come to enjoy using ground turkey in my dishes. Ground turkey is much leaner meat and can also have great flavor. Note: it is important to pay attention to the cut and color of the meat to ensure it is the leanest. Whole Foods can be a great place to purchase ground turkey.

One thing that I love about ground turkey is that it is really dynamic. You can use it in almost any recipe as a substitute for another meat, or eat it on its own. You can season it with taco seasoning for a great Mexican dish, barbecue sauce for a more Western recipe, or any other assorted seasonings you may have – or none at all if you want! Here is a website with a ton of recipes including ground turkey.

One of my favorite things to make with ground turkey is a turkey burger. Don’t groan – not every turkey burger is dry and flavorless! This one certainly isn’t. Below is the basic breakdown of how I create this turkey burger. This recipe is pretty forgiving, so feel free to substitute any spices, onion types, etc. You can add anything you like really, too.

Image

Turkey burgers:

1 package ground turkey (1 lb)

1 medium red onion

Your preference of herbs (I use an Italian seasoning that has parsley and basil)

Salt and pepper to taste (I prefer garlic salt for the extra kick)

Bread (I use sourdough)

Condiments

 

 

 

  1. Mix turkey, onion, herbs, and salt and pepper (the amounts really vary by taste, I just eyeball about a few tablespoons of each).
  2. Form into patties. Try to make them pretty flat so they cook all the way through
  3. Put on grill, pan, whatever cooking medium you plan to use – cook about 7 minutes per side. Add cheese about 5 minutes after the first flip if you plan to use cheese.
  4. Prepare bread/bun. I like to use lettuce, onion, tomato, and mustard or spinach and hummus.
  5. Take burger off the heat and enjoy!

Not bad, huh? Tastes almost like a hamburger, but way leaner and less calories!

Thanks for reading! Leave your questions, thoughts, recommendations in the comments section below! Make sure to check out my Twitter to keep up with quick health and food tips between blogs!

-Monica

Leave a Reply

