Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred

How’s everybody doing with the 30 day challenge? Hopefully you’re still holding strong, its been almost a week now! I’ve been doing the challenges each morning before I take a shower, I don’t know that I’ve seen any serious results so far, but I’m definitely holding myself accountable!

If you’re ready for something a little more intense, I have the perfect thing for you. Normally, I’m a little skeptical of work out DVDs, but I will try anything to get a good, fast workout in without leaving the house. Wouldn’t you?

I tried several different work out DVDs last summer and Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred is by far my favorite. I picked up this DVD at Target for about $10. These work outs are less than 25 minutes but they’re no joke! The basic premise of the shred is a 3-2-1 combination – 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs. This is the most efficient way to burn calories and put on lean muscle. The combination of eating healthy and doing the 30 Day Shred (with occasional outside cardio) helped my dad to lose over 30 pounds and me to lose more than 20 last summer. This summer, I’m challenging myself again and starting the Shred today.

Full disclosure, if you have knee problems, this DVD might not be the best for you. There are a lot of squats and jumping jacks, which can be hard on the knees. If you are just worried that you can’t keep up, not to worry, she also teaches modified moves for beginners. There are three levels, so you can progress on your own time. All you need is the DVD and a set of hand weights. You can see my own copy and hand weights below. I recommend starting with weights less than 5 lbs, because you are generally using them to tone small muscles in the shoulders and back, so heavy weights might be hard to keep up with the repetitions. You can increase weight as you get stronger! The best part is that the work out definitely delivers. You will see results and you will notice your stamina increase.

Image

So, a 25 minute work out, amazing results in up to 30 days, and the only required equipment is a $10 DVD and some hand weights. Are you in?

I challenge you to start today! Any thoughts or questions? Comment below. And tweet me your progress as you go!

Leave a Reply

