Maintaining Healthy Eating On The Go

Today, I went and explored San Francisco with a few family members and my boyfriend. We had a great time sight seeing and acting touristy – we also had lunch there at Cliff House. Why am I telling you this? Because it reminded me of another important tip to help with a healthy lifestyle – how to make sure you are eating healthy even at restaurants and fast food!

Image

When I go out, I definitely don’t want to deprive myself of eating, and it can be particularly hard in restaurants when you see the waiters carrying all the delicious foods on trays to everyone except you…who ordered a salad, no dressing. That’s why I’m here to give you alternatives – because there are alternatives!

 

  1. When I know I am going to be eating a meal outside of the house, I like to do a little preparation. I google the menu and nutrition charts. That way, I have already looked over the calories, fat, carbs, etc. Having a plan of what to eat can help you stay on track. The curly fries might look amazing after having walked around for a few hours, but knowing that they can cost you more than 1000 calories can help curb your appetite for them. This also gives you a chance to scope out which foods are healthiest and lowest of calories while still appeasing your appetite. This is a great link to use to find some healthy options at common fast food places!
  2. If I know I’m going out to dinner at say, a Mexican restaurant, where I can’t help myself but to go all out eating chips and salsa, I will eat a little lighter all day in preparation. Being extra conscious of what you eat before the eagerly anticipated, delicious-but-calorie-dense meal can help to balance out a proper diet for the day overall. Add a few extra fruits and veggies and maybe skip the midday dessert so you can fully enjoy the later meal without feeling guilty or overly full.
  3. Allow yourself one day to fully indulge! If you usually are extremely healthy, allow yourself a few days to take the day off. Really enjoy where you are and whatever food you want – you deserve it!

Hope these tips help you stay on track with your health no matter where you are dining! Do you have any additional tips? Let me know in the comments below!

-Monica

Photo credit: sanfrancisco.com

Leave a Reply

