A Sweet, Summer Breakfast

Happy Wednesday! Only two more days left in the hectic week. If you’re at all like me, I am constantly looking for a quick, healthy, easy breakfast that will keep me full until lunch time.

For a while, I was really into eating oatmeal every morning, especially steel cut oatmeal. This did a great job of keeping me full and providing nutrition that can be so hard to get with other breakfast foods (let’s face it, Froot Loops are no longer considered a balanced breakfast).

Now that it’s summer time and can already be around 80 degrees by the time I leave for class in the mornings, I have been enjoying a cool, refreshing smoothie for breakfast each morning – and I have to say, it is great! The great thing about smoothies is the amount of variation you can use when making them. Basically any fruits (and even veggies!) that you have laying around can be thrown into a blender to make a new, delicious flavor.

Smoothie2

Here is a table that I sometimes use when making smoothies! It can be really helpful to get the right consistency. Pictured below is the smoothie I made this morning! I used the table and added almond milk, spinach, a banana and strawberries, flax seed, and ice.

Give one or two different smoothie formulas a try! You won’t be disappointed!

What is your favorite healthy and filling breakfast food? Leave a comment and share your own tips or recipes!

4 thoughts on “A Sweet, Summer Breakfast

  1. Pingback: The Healthiest Way To Grocery Shop | A Basic Guide to Health and Fitness

  2. Pingback: Part Time Nerd | Happy Summer!

  3. Pingback: Homemade Watermelon Slurpee | A Basic Guide to Health and Fitness

  4. Pingback: Grade A Granola | A Basic Guide to Health and Fitness

Leave a Reply

